Time For A New Paradigm?

Let's Party!

Toys R Us

Click to see full size
_______________________________________________________________________________

“Did you notice the date?”

“Yeah, October 29th. And that’s exactly how it feels. Maybe we should call it Gray Friday.”

“That reminds me…do you know the difference between ‘earning a living’ and making a life?”

“I don’t know. What?”

“Think about it!”

“What’s to think about? Besides, I don’t have time right now. I’ve got to get back to work.”

“What are you doing for a living these days?”

“I sew the balls on teddy bears. It’s not very interesting, but it pays the bills.”

“I thought you had a graduate degree in economics.”

“I do.”

“So why are you sewing balls on teddy bears?”

“After the ‘crash’ it was the only job I could find. It was offered through a government sponsored endangered species stimulus package. I got it because they needed someone who could count.”

“That makes sense. By the way…who makes the teddy’s balls?”

“My wife does. She fashions them out of dried apricots.”

“Cool!” So…what do you do in your spare time?”

“Well, my wife spends her free time crosstitching solutions to Sudoku puzzles, and I’m currently studying Chinese marketing.”

“No kidding! How come?”

“Because as soon as we’ve finished this project we’re moving to China.”

“Wow! What are you going to do there?”

“Earn a living!”

To be continued . . . (unfortunately)

_______________________________________________________________________________
2 comments on “Time For A New Paradigm?

  1. Think about it. I tried, but I don’t have time now. I don’t have to make a living, but I do have to get back to work, and it makes as much sense as what this man and his wife are doing–and planning to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

